level of management in nigeria

Management is a profession which involve planning, organizing, staffing, directing and controlling. Depending on the level of management; managers formulate Mission, Objectives, Strategies and Tactics (MOST). P. Rao, (2010). Management itself is needed in every kind of business or project hence, it’s a vast profession. For effective management, especially the middle level and lower-level management, there is need to have the required knowledge of the process of achieving the project successfully. For example; managers in construction industry need have remarkable knowledge of construction and construction process so as to effectively manage the construction project. Therefore, management can be categorized base function of organization(s). For the success of every project, the right thing has to be done by the right person(worker) in the right way. To ensure this achieved, the manager should have the knowledge of such activity. The level of management in my work environment is basically similar to the one listed in most of the management books, journals etc. There are three level of management which are top level management, middle level management and lower-level management. Top level management which is referred to as Strategic level of management is saddled with responsibility of managing overall company base on the mission and objectives of the firm through certain policies formulated. Middle level Management report directly to top level management are also referred to as tactical level of management and translate formulated mission, objective set by top managers into specific activities. Lower-Level Management also referred to as front line managers, they make day to day decision and report to departmental (middle level) managers. Ther are responsible with the supervision of artisans/ labours on a specific project(s). My managerial position depends on the kind of project and rules of engage, for jobs my company gets directly and responsible as the managing director of the company. I see myself as a top-level manager. However, there some project where I see myself as middle level manager on third party projects.