letting children deicde for their own

When it comes to parenting, just like most other social concepts, there are various schools of thoughts with different and sometimes opposing perspectives. One of these challenging subjects is around children and their decision-making. There is a group that believe if children were left free to make their own choices in their routine affairs, the end-result would be a society of selfish individuals, while opponents of this viewpoint are inssisting on the importance of the fact that children should be taught how to make decisions on their own. In this essay these viewpoints will be examined. According to some methods that used to be utilized to raise children, this is the duty of parents to help their children with their routine tasks and to make the necessary decisions for them. Although it might sound outdated at the time to some extent compared to modern parenting styles, the rationale behind this belief is that children who have been given too much freedom of choice may acquire some unsavory traits later on in their personal and social life; The society found based on these individuals could lack altruistic behavior and it is prone to be lead to the extremes of individualism which is nothing but chaos. At the other hand, a group of parents are against this method and firmly the defend the right of children for making their own decisions. After all family is the first and one of the most essential social agencies responsible for rearing and training individuals for socializing; And one might argue that for one to choose among a diversity of choices, is an vital skill to be mastered in life. Furthermore in an imaginary scenario, if children are taught of the basics of decision making, they can practise this valuable skill and hone it through time with the help of their teachers and peers. Finally, based on the aforementioned conclusions of both perspectives, it can be inferenced that while freedom of choice for children could sound irresponsible at first glance, but with a deeper scrutiny enough evidence against it will emerge; Teaching youngsters of the valuable skill of decision-making and showing them how to do it whilst respecting other's boundaries and benefits, seems like a sound and promising lesson.