Let’s talk about your home town or village: what kind of place is it? what’s the most interesting part of your town/village? what kind of jobs do the people in your town/village do? would you say it’s a good place to live? (why? )

In the recent years, many families are sending their elderly relatives to nursing homes rather than taking care of them at family homes. This essay will highlight some of the benefits and drawbacks that have resulted from this switch. Looking at the positive ones, the most significant advantage of care homes is that they are well equipped to meet the demands of the elderly. For example, there are no stairs in nursing homes, and those which do, have stair lifts and elevators installed. This takes care of the mobility problem that the geriatrics often suffers from and thus not exacerbating the motion issue. Additionally, the staff’s that works in the nursing home are professionally trained to manage the needs of the geriatric's. These skills are rarely possessed by the family members. However, there are some drawbacks of nursing homes for elderly, the most obvious one of which is lack of the presence of loved ones. Although, friends and relatives can visit the care homes' residents, these visits can be infrequent, and loneliness is often the consequence. To make matters worse, it has been shown that those who are lonely are at a greater risk of depression and weak immunity. Furthermore, the residents of the nursing home are often surrounded by illness and death. Such an environment might result in curtailing the happiness and trigger severe depression. In conclusion, although care homes have specially-trained staff and are well equipped for taking care of the geriatric's, the drawbacks of loneliness and concomitant depression should also be taken into consideration.