Learning language in primary or secondary school

Learning foreign languages is one of the main subjects for students around the globe. While some educationalists argue that elementary school is perfect time to begin learning foreign languages, others believe secondary school is a better time. Knowing foreign languages in the modern world is essential for everyone, and childhood is the best time to start learning. First of all, children can learn new things quickly. Since they are enthusiastic and energetic, it is easier for them to learn the language. In addition, they have less distraction which can be an obstacle for learning. Secondly, students in elementary school have more free time. Since their subjects at school are easier, they don't need to do difficult homework at home and have more spare time. So they can concentrate on the language acquisition. On the other hand, foreign language acquisition in primary school has some drawbacks that cannot be ignored. Firstly, it is possible that students become confused about the second language and their mother tongue. Since students start to learn written language and grammar of native language in primary school, it is likely that they mix them together and might not understand any of them properly. Secondly, learning a foreign language at this age can put severe stress on them. Studying a foreign language is a difficult subject and requires considerable effort. In other words, students should have simple subjects, otherwise they lose their interest in studying. In conclusion, studying foreign languages in primary school has both benefits and disadvantages. However, it is more beneficial for children to do it sooner.