Learning foreign languages

Language plays an eternal role in conveying our ideas or communicate with peoples around us. Some countries such as Japan emphasize on only learning Japanese, on the contrary, some countries, for instance India has Hindi as it’s mother-tongue, but also teaches foreign language that is not native to the people. However, the dilemma that arises is that when should we push children to learn a foreign language. Some experts argue that when a child is admitted in a primary school, the learning step starts from there. Child being in its early stages of learning have a rate of perception as compared to students in secondary school. With high rate of perception, the child is able to grab the basics of a foreign language much easy, faster and better. While on the contrary, if child learn foreign words in later stages, he would first have to start with basics, then gradually moving down the path, which might could take a lot of time. If a child is able grasp the roots of it early, he can emphasize more at later stages of the schooling. For instance, when I was in my primary school, teacher taught me basics of Punjabi (a foreign language), and later I was able to speak fluently like I was native to that area. Although, a child in its primary stages might not be able to handle the pressure of learning two languages, one native and other foreign, but the pressure today will bring the best in them. If he is able to learn French and expertise it in secondary schooling, he has great possibility of even moving to the France and continuing their career overseas. This opens up various opportunities for the child itself. For example, two engineers with same qualification but one having proficiency in foreign language will itself outweigh the other. Hence, it is clear that the advantages of learning a foreign language outweigh its disadvantages, therefore, it is clearly visible that one should pay more attention to children learning foreign language in primary schooling so that later they are able to develop proficiency and paving new roadways for their careers.