Learning English at schools is often seen as more important than local languages. If these are not taught many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it more important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure survival of local languages and if so, how?

English being one of the most widely spoken languages in today’s world, has affected people’s day-to-day activities enormously. Due to the fact that, the entire world becoming one global village through all the technological advancements and innovations, English has become a must to effectively communicate with each other and even survive. Although it has now become essential for everyone to be fluent in English, I strongly believe that people should give priority for their mother tongue. It is evident that earlier we had quite boundaries across the globe. Lately, the invention of computers and the World Wide Web has brought the entire universe into one single platform. So it is obvious that countries are not isolated anymore. Today, people tend to make deals with others all over the world because of the advantages they get. For instance, if someone is to purchase goods, they are more likely to find the best prices and make the purchase from another country through E-commerce. What’s more, technology has brought businesses into one place where they can extend their markets in different continents. Hence, not being able to communicate in English is going to make you isolated in this rapidly growing technological era. While teaching your child the importance of English, what is more important is to make them protect and prioritize your own language. Many countries have their own language gifted by their ancestors. It is everyone’s duty to protect the language that shows the uniqueness of their nation. As I believe making kids love their country and nation is best possible way to protect countries’ unique heritages. Because a patriotic person will always give priority for their mother nation above all the foreign influence. In conclusion, it is crucial for people from all over the world to protect and maintain their culture, traditions, mother language and finally the country. Because the world will be the perfect place if the diversity is protected and respected.