Advantages and disadvantages of not having children

Nowadays, it is often seen, globally, that increasing numbers of people are following the trend of not having children after marriage. The very obvious advantage of this is less responsibilities. However, loneliness is the one drawback that childless couples face, particularly during the declining years. One main benefit that childless married people have is less things to take care of. In other words, for couples not having children is a great relief because they have nobody other than themselves to look after. This leaves them with an immense amount of time to enjoy their life free of worries. For instance, it is commonly seen that most of the people with children spends almost more than 18 years of the life raising their offspring. On the other hand, the major disadvantage that childless couple normally face is loneliness in their old age, especially when one of the partners dies. Generally, people don’t have many friends when they are old, and the only expected company is of grandkids. Those who decide not to have kids upon marriage lacks this company during elderly years and are more likely to go into depression. For example, a recent survey done by the government agency of Netherland reported that 98 percent of elders living in the old age homes are suffering from depression, and the reason behind is that they do not have families. To conclude, while being childfree provide married couples with less responsibilities and huge amount of time for just themselves, during the early years, it may affect them negatively in the later years.