Learning english at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion is it important for everyone to learn English. Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and if so how?

Language is a way to communicate your thoughts, ideas and opinions with each other. English is one of the major languages in the contemporary world. These days schools are giving utmost importance to learn English from the childhood as it is a gateway to the world and no one should be deprived of the opportunities. However, the local languages should also be given equal significance as most of them are on the verge of dying out. Firstly, English is an official language in more than 50 countries, most of them are well- developed nations where one might be interested in settling down in the future. The English speaking countries such as the UK, the Us, Canada are considered to be the best destinations for higher education. Therefore, one must posses a strong command in the language to thrive in these nations. In addition, the job opportunities for an individual with better English skills are numerous as the employers are interested in those candidates who can deal with foreign clients fluently due to globalisation. A good knowledge of this also helps a person to explore other parts of the world, thus boosting tourism. However, the local languages also have the influence on the society and should be taught to preserve them for future generations. There are many ancient books written in other languages which has a significant role in the modern era. For example, the books on Ayurveda, a traditional healing practice, are written in Sanskrit. As many people are leaning towards this therapy, it has become all the more important to learn and preserve the minority languages. Including these in the school curriculum with the help of government in promoting them through incentives such as scholarships to students with the local language skills will be a positive measure to promote these. Moreover, parents should also encourage their kids to speak in their mother tongue at home. To conclude, it is believed that English is necessary to succeed in all walks of life as it makes one more confident. Nevertheless, the local languages also need to be given due respect. Equal efforts should be made by individuals to learn both the languages whether it is an international one or the local.