Learning english at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion is it important for everyone to learn English. Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and if so how?

Indigineous languages are gradually phasing out due to the fact that they are not taught in learning instituitions. I believe it is paramount for all to learn english because it could act as a universal language for communication, however, we should prevent the extinction of native9uyh languages by using them as a means of communicating at informal settings as well as incorporating them into schools curriculum. Native language helps us stay connected to our tradition and culture. This means that speaking the language would encourage people to stay connected to their roots while using this medium to pass down the tradition from generation to generation. To exemplify, a survey carried out by university of Oxford reveals that those who speak their local language practice their culture more and prefer wearing their traditional wears. Furthermore, indigineous language could be used as a means of learning ones history written by the forefathers thousands of years ago, which unfortunately would look like alien language to people that do not understand the language. These languages could be protected from dying out by learning them in instituitions just the way other subjects like mathematics are taught. In addition, parent could enforce their kids communicate to them through native languages at early age. Moreover, those who speak their languages in schools should not be purnished for speaking vernacular but encouraged. For instance, some schools have rules banning students from communicating to one another through local language except in english, these rules should be scrapped. To conclude, english language could be used as a tool for teaching in schools thereby making it a necessity for all to learn. On the other hand, the importance of indigineous language in our society cannot be overlooked and therefore be allowed to thrive by teaching and speaking them.