Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, ifso, how?

Language is not just a way of communication, it’s an identity, it distinguishes people from different parts of the world. Schools these days prioritize the need to learn English over local languages, if this continues, it would lead to the deterioration of home language. In my opinion, despite the fact that English is a must-learn language, learning centres should focus on teaching local languages as well. To begin with, the Importance of teaching English is very high, all the students should be able to talk, write, listen at speak at least at an intermediate level. This is due to the fact that as the world is becoming more globalized, studying remotely have become very common. Most parents prefer to send their kids abroad for higher education. For instance, if the adolescent is highly skilled but has weak English skills this would bring him higher challenges when he studies outside his home town. On the other hand, students should be taught their local languages, at both academic level and practical level, by organizing events, dramas and stage show in their local language, as it would sustain and endorse the native dialectal. The schools should organize both indoor and outdoor events in the native language to involve the kids in extracurricular activities and at the same time, it would enhance their local language skills. For instance, teenagers could organize events and primary/secondary school kids can join as guests, and they could learn from them. In conclusion, the fact that English is extremely important for an individual to work across the borders, the local language should not be avoided in schools. Both languages have their own importance in different aspects of life.