Learning about the past has no value to those of us living in the present.

History has always been a fundamental part of our existence, therefore the study of the human race would definitely be incomplete without it. While some believe learning about the past is not necessary for those living in the present, I do not agree with this and this essay would further discuss reasons why it is essential for people to know about the past. Obviously, learning about the past would let us have a better understanding of the present situation we face and how better we can handle it. To illustrate this, the current COVID-19 vaccination going on to combat the pandemic has shown that once a person receives 2 jabs of the vaccine the lesser the chances of contracting the deadly virus. Hence, this is based on previous studies that have been carried out on SARS virus that mimics coronavirus. Thus the reason why the COVID-19 vaccines are effective due to previous research. In addition to the point highlighted above technology is also another reason why studying the past is relevant to us at present. Admittedly all the modern devices and gadgets we have now are built on previous technology. One clear example is the 5G network that is being rolled out for use in most countries on smartphones devices, this network is based on its predecessor which is the 4G LTE, hence the only difference between them is the speed at which they operate, in other words, the 5G is faster than the 4G LTE due to advancement in technology. Conclusively, it would be erroneous not to note that there are some things that are happening at present that are not based on the past such as COVID 19 which is a novel virus that people have no prior knowledge of. Therefore, I strongly believe that learning about the past is of huge value for us living at present as it makes us aware of the challenges we face and how to improve, and also it is a prerequisite for advancement in technology.