Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present.

Some believe learning about the past has so significance for those living in the present. I disagree with the statement primarily because of two reasons. The first being that it is a good opportunity to learn something valuable from the past to make our future better and the second being that it is the past that defined our presence as a human being which is very important to be aware of. Exploring history always teaches us something intriguing about the past, and it is a great opportunity for us to learn something valuable from it to apply to make society better. For example, significant historical events such as the first and the second world war, If anyone has studied such events extensively, they are aware of the catastrophic consequences of it and how vital it is to prevent such conflicts from happening in the future. It is also important to learn about human evolution as we are very much defined by our ancestors. Those living in the present are reaping the benefits of some revolutionary discoveries invented by our ancestors. For instance, agriculture which has revolutionized human life. It is being used extensively globally and if it was not for that we will be suffering from hunger and diseases. It also gives us an opportunity to be grateful for our ancestors and for the sacrifices they made. In conclusion, despite a number of people who may argue that learning about the past has no absolute value, researching about the past is immensely valuable to prevent harmful events from occurring in the future and to be educated on how humans as a species evolved.