Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present.

It is a view held, that learning about history holds no worth for people living in the present. I disagree with the statement and choose to explain my argument. Every human being is part of a heritage and has an ancestor. These make an individual belong to society. It defines the religion, caste and creed of people that distinguishes them from each other. Our cultures create a unique identity to be shaped further. For example: a child born into a Christian household will be baptised, taught the prayers of that community and married to further pass on the tradition to his children. A sense of belonging is required to be associated with organizations. Our past helps us dwell on the rich culture we associate with. The ancestry, we descend from giving us recognition. For example: Rajiv Gandhi is the descendant of Mahatma Gandhi who is considered to be the father of our nation. Each person is given a surname apart from their own name, which traces their roots. For example: surnames like Fernandes, Dias, D'souza are Christian while Shaikh, Khan is Muslim. If the past did not hold value, then no field would be flourishing today. All fields of education source back to medieval roots. For example: History as a subject traces the lives of people who lived centuries ago and glorifies their great deeds. The only time our ancient self doesn't matter is, when we are judged wrongly in the present for a crime committed long before. In conclusion, it is evident that our lineage is very crucial to our present.