Language plays a crucial role almost in every person’s life. While some feel that second language should be learnt after primary education, I stand with those who feel that learning of a foreign language ought to be started as soon as children start going to school.

On the one hand, it could be argued that learning of a foreign language at an early stage of learning could be disadvantageous for a student’s carrier as the timetable is already fully loaded. Those who support this notion say that learning of more crucial subjects than a second language such as learning mathematics, science and other subjects is more useful. If importance is given to another language, other subjects may fall behind in curriculum. Moreover, learning of a second language is said to be a waste of youngsters’ useful time. The reason behind this could be that most of the students never leave their native countries; therefore, it is of no use to learn a foreign language and that time could be given to other crucial subjects. However, I believe that there are more arguments to suggest that early learning of a foreign language is beneficial in many ways. One positive side is that at an early age children could learn second language without the fear of perfection. They may not worry about the exact pronunciation, spelling mistakes; consequently, they learn it in a more efficient way. Although, learning of native language as well as foreign language at once may make learning difficult for children, I would argue that learning of second language at later stage would be more difficult than this and youngsters may resist learning it because of the fear of wrong pronunciation. However, in my opinion, the most positive aspect of learning a foreign language is the impact it is having on children’s cognitive skills. The children speaking more than one language may outperform the single language speakers in problem solving attitude, academic skills as well as other life skills because they are trying to learn new words and the atmosphere of a foreign nation which encourage them to explore the options out of the box. In conclusion, although the students’ curriculum is already full with other important subjects, learning of a foreign language pave ways for children in many fields. Therefore, on balance, I believe that children should start learning a foreign language at primary level.