About a farewell meeting in university

The expansion of the COVID-19 epidemic has caused several barriers to education for both learners and lecturers. It cannot, however, prevent the great effort of the University of Technology and Education's Faculty of Foreign Languages from assisting our students in getting access to the high-quality academic environment. Due to the tireless work, our faculty was honored to obtain the project of Virtual English Language Fellow by the Regional English Language Office (RELO), US Embassy in Vietnam in early 2021. With this programme, the undergraduate students in our faculty was connected to and taught by an English native lecturer virtually. William Lewis was our English Language Fellow for the second semester and summer term of 2021. He co-taught some certain classes with several lecturers of our faculty such as Upper - Intermediate Listening and Speaking, Critical Writing, American Studies, Advanced Listening and Speaking, Upper - Intermediate Reading, Consecutive Translation and Academic Writing. After the summer semester, the project came to an end, and our faculty conducted a farewell meeting for Mr. William on September 5th, 2021. Dean Mr. Tin Dang, English Language Coordinator of the United States Consulate General in Ho Chi Minh City Ms. Nguyen Tran, our lecturers who co-taught with Mr. William, and students who used to take his classes, attended the meeting. Many meaningful activities was taken place during the meeting, such as our students and instructors expressed their thoughts and gratitude after a period of working with Mr. William, our faculty awarded him certificate, and the Dean gave a speech. All of our students and lecturers who presented at the conference claimed that they had a great time working with Mr. William. Furthermore, Dean Mr. Tin Dang, also stated at the meeting: “This is an absolutely invaluable chance for students to be exposed to native English language speakers; especially this is the first time students can learn about American culture taught by a real American teacher”. The Faculty of Foreign Languages always appreciates the contribution of Mr. William Lewis and looks forward to having the opportunity to cooperate with him again in the near future.