Lack of communication and closeness between family members is a vitally important issue in many societies today. In this essay, I will firstly discuss the causes of this problem and then offer some possible solutions to it.

Lack of communication and closeness between family members is a vitally important issue in many societies today. In this essay, I will firstly discuss the causes of this problem and then offer some possible solutions to it. In my view, the primary cause of this problem is the modern lifestyle. Most parents today work much harder than ever before. In the past, one parent – usually the mother – stayed at home to take care of the children. In recents times, however, it has become increasingly common for both parents to work. As a result, more and more children now grow up with neither parent at home. It is unsurprising, then, that families are no longer as close as they once were. One other factor adding to this problem is that people today spend too much time on solitary activities like watching television. In order to overcome this problem and make families closer, peoples’ lifestyle must change. I feel more parents should stay at home and take care their children. Perhaps governments could subsidise parents who choose to look after their families rather than working. Of course, these subsidise would probably not fully cover the income a family would reduce the financial pain of surviving on one income and afford to do so. Another positive step would be to promote active pastimes through public education programmes. To conclude, while it is improbable that any solution will be found in the near future, I feel that the above mentioned measures would be a good first step.