discussion about the responsibility of government and individual on protecting the environment

In modern society, environmental care has always been a global debate. In regards of the duty, many people go with the opinion that only government is responsible for protecting the environment; whereas others support that every human being must be liable for it. My writing will analyze both sides of the issue before presenting my own take on the matter. It is not hard to understand why more and more people think that only the government should play an important role in taking care of the habitat. The most crucial reason is that the enormous amount of pollution is taken it out by big factories, and an individual cannot have enough power as well as the budget to provide a solution for this issue. As a result, only the government has the ability to restrict them to control pollutions. Additionally, the authority can bring out some laws to reduce several threats to the environment, like the laws on Forest Protection and Development. However, I completely disagree with this statement due to the fact that the government’s policies might be useless if citizens do not take part in them. On the other hand, it is undoubtedly true that the serious problem will be solved better and more effectively if everyone is in charge of it. This is because when people start changing their behaviors just a little, those actions together will provide a huge and helpful contribution that alleviates this problem. According to recent research, there is a strong relationship between the reduction of using plastic bags by people and the decrease in global warming. Moreover, by using public transport, people will be able to protect the environment due to the fact that the exhaust gases of cars are considered to be a major source of air pollution. Therefore, there is no doubt that each individual plays an important role in environmental protection. In conclusion, from my personal view of point, protecting the environment is a serious problem, so we should not put the responsibility only on individuals or authorities. Obviously, joint efforts of both the governments and their citizens would result in the most effective way of preserving the environment.