Khmer and Maths are more important subjects than Art and Music.

It is rather unfortunate that in today’s society there are so many people who cannot read, write or even do arithmetic. Although subjects like Art and Music are necessary, I strongly believe that Khmer and Maths are the most fundamental part of our education. Some people claim that Art and Music are just as significant as Khmer and Maths. Even though learning how to draw or play an instrument can help us relax and make us happier, they can also stop us from spending enough time on the more serious subjects and passing important exams. There is no doubt that when you know how to read, write and do simple calculations, you have the tools required in order to deal with everyday matters. For example, being able to read and write can help you communicate and express yourself clearly. Moreover, you need basic maths for such daily chores as doing your shopping, paying your bills and managing your money. Furthermore, it is essential to have a good knowledge of Khmer and Maths so as to find even the simplest job. Reading, writing and mathematical skills are the minimum requirements that most employers demand. In summary, it seems to me that Khmer and Maths are vital subjects. Without learning to read, write or do arithmetic, people may have difficulties coping with even the simplest tasks in life.