Does Education Prepare Students for an Independent Life?

It is true to say that education is generally perceived as the stage preceding independent adult life. On the one hand, education is the element of learning for getting theoretical and practical knowledge that allows to get a good job and be a conscious member of society. Basically, education is oriented towards acquiring necessary skills that define a qualified worker. On the other hand, education is the preparation for a future independent life that requires experience and practice. So, although the primary aim of getting education lies in getting a professional degree and starting a career, education is connected with such important aspects as the development of communicative skills, preparation for failures and uncertainty, and developing critical thinking that prepare students for real life. To start with, education becomes not only the sphere of professional development, but also social development for students. Every stage of education involves the type of interaction with others that makes people modify their behavior, change attitudes, and learn to choose a particular approach to everyone (Tokihiro, 2017). Without a doubt, it is impossible to live in a world with millions of people without interacting and working with them. And education becomes the most important stage on the way to learning more about human relationships. Traditionally, solving educational tasks requires constant instruction, consultation, and help which promotes gaining necessary communicative skills for maintaining different kinds of relationships with others. As a result, education can be defined as an essential part of social preparation for life. Education also prepares students for possible failures and uncertainties in their life. Learning is a constant process of the method of trial and error, which directs students toward the idea of accepting a possible failure and possibilities for success (Roylance, 2017). The educational system focuses on fierce competition and copies the traditional social model in adult independent life. A learning process system based on grades shows the importance of hard work, patience, and dedication as the main factors for success which accelerate the general chances for a better position in life. Education is not about learning particular material for practical purposes, but perceiving the model of life in the real world. And finally, education requires the development of a learner mindset that defines the further abilities of the student to act reasonably in real life. It is true to say that educational programs “place the greatest value on creativity and the ability to engage in independent, critical thinking” (Excell, 2010). Following the rapid development of technological advances, education prepares a person who can benefit from the informational age, not only absorbing all the information, but taking a critical approach to different questions. Creativity is directly connected with the problem-solving and decision-making that presupposes a high level of student development for living in society. Without doubts, success and life quality depend on the ability to be innovative and select the best solution that will bring positive results. To sum up, the fact that education is built on getting necessary market skills for jobs cannot limit the general value of education as the preparation for independent life. Due to constant interaction with others, students learn to find a common language with people, selecting an appropriate pattern of behavior. Education and its fierce system stand for the preparation for possible troubles and mistakes in life. And finally, it develops creative thinking and innovative approaches to different situations, which allows making smart decisions and finding the best solutions.