Kellogg's purpose is to educate, equip and inspire brave leaders who create lasting value. Provide a recent example where you have demonstrated leadership and created value. What challenges did you face and what did you learn?

When I first arrived at PSEG from my previous company, DTE Energy, I found that the natural gas engineers at PSEG were extremely specialized, excelling in their niches while generally lacking broad technical knowledge. Soon after I arrived, I was asked to apply my past experience and serve as training coordinator on a newly formed group aimed at improving technical competency of gas engineers at PSEG. Imagine my surprise when one year later, I found myself at the head of this still new and largely undefined group! Between promotions, medical leave, and general attrition, I emerged into the role of chairperson that I had aspired to, but on an accelerated timeline beyond my imagining. Suddenly, I had the opportunity to drive great growth for PSEG’s gas engineers. With over half of the forty total gas engineers holding less than two years of experience in the industry, PSEG’s gas engineers needed technical growth and direction more than ever. To provide a means of acquiring much needed experience across gas engineering, I immediately set off to revive a long defunct training program. Of course, reviving a training program in my “spare time” at work proved quite a challenge. The program required significant commitment and buy-in from the engineers and their managers since the program required several weeks in total away from their daily roles. Also, defining the topics and trainings I held multiple meetings with subject matter experts to define the topics and trainings and confirm all relevant materials were represented. Understandably, the covid-19 pandemic also slowed the implementation of this training program. Plenty of hands-on activities are required to fully train gas engineering that cannot be covered virtually. Given covid-19 protocols at my company, forty engineers would not be able to meet at one job site. Instead, I established groups of about five engineers, based on location and function, that would work together to observe field tasks and learn gas operations and design. While the program’s roll-out is ongoing, the impact is immediately visible. The gas engineers at PSEG have been very eager to learn and have participated in numbers that exceeded my expectations, with over 90% of engineers partaking to some extent so far. I have learned many skills and lessons through this program, but two stick out above the others. I have experienced the support that others are willing to provide for causes that they find important to them, and I have witnessed the improved engagement from engineers that are growing and developing. I know that with the process and structure that is now in place, PSEG’s gas engineers will be better able to tackle any problem that they face both now and in the future.