just a random essay i wrote

In the temporary society, humanity is getting more and more modern and with this people are finding ways to be healthier and possibly live longer. As the result, life expectancy is rising all around the globe. At first glance, this might sound like a good thing, on the contrary it would bring many negative effects as well. On one hand, there are a number of reasons why increasing life expectancy is beneficial. Firstly, old people have lived long enough, have went through many ups and down. Accumulating life-long wisdom that they could pass down to younger generations, contributing to the society even when they are old, for example giving grandchildren advices on what they should and shouldn’t do. Secondly, as people gets old, they begin to enjoy life more, after all the hard-work and money they have made in the prime of their life, old people often use the last years of their life and lifesaving for family and friends. They want to spend their last years with close ones so they can create as much memories as they can, try some new hobbies, or spend money on things they always wanted to do when they were young. On the other hand, there are numerous disadvantages of living longer that people should take into consideration. The principal is that many old people are fragile, they can have many bone problems and taking care of they are not easy. As life expectancy rises, so does the need for healthcare, with this the government have to spend a lot of money on this issue. Additionally, many aged people are not capable of working, thus can have quite an impact on the economy, and depends on where people live, families do not have the income to look after old people. Furthermore, if people live longer, the human population will increase, more people will result in more pollution and faster depletion of natural resources for human demands. In conclusion, the increase of life expectancy could bring many benefits, but it’s adverse consequences should not be overlooked.