Discuss the effects of reality television on society

It is true that reality television has become a major part of what people are watching on television today. It has become a phenomenon as they are significantly popular and provide a way to escape from everyday stress. This essay will set out the effects of reality television on society. Reality TV programs have had both positive and negative impacts on society. First of all, we should not underestimate the good effects of reality TV. The entertainment factor in reality TV shows can make people feel happy and entertained when they are bored or depressed, which is important for mental health. Reality TV shows could also be a vehicle for self-growth motivation because participants often face challenges in their life such as prejudice or family problems. For instance, Christine Ha, who was the first blind contestant of ‘MasterChef’, was miraculously announced as the winner of this competition. On the other hand, they have a lot of downsides to them as well. Reality television has been criticized by many moralists and intellectuals for its negative effects on society. It is argued that reality TV shows promote bad values like self-centeredness, and that they justify unhealthy behavior like wasting food or even substance abuse, which would end up imitation in the audience, especially children. For example, it is not hard to see Gordan Ramsay unhesitantly throw dishes away in ‘Master Chef’ or in any version of ‘Next Top Model’, there are often abrasive conflict contestants that are placed there to provide tension and drama through their spoiled behavior. To sum up, reality television has been a controversial topic that affects a lot of people for many years. It received both praise and criticism from audiences, while it can be an entertainment vehicle to relieve stress, it would also bring about several unhealthy behaviors.