It is widely believed that studying a foreign language in the first year of school is more effective than in secondary school for children. Drawbacks and benefits of this topic

Nowadays, some experts believe that it is better for children to learn a foreign language in the first year of school than in secondary school, especially in both developed and developing countries. This essay will discuss both merits and demerits of this phenomenon with relevant examples to support. On the one hand, there are at least two main drawback that studying a new language at the young age brings to. The main disadvantage is that learning multiple language in primary school can lead to children’s confusion the foreign dialect with their native tongue. As a result, they may take longer to speak fluently their mother tongue. Another negative of adding a foreign language to primary schools’ curriculum is that it can bring an extra burden on children. For example, in some countries in the world like Vietnam, the basic syllabus is quite heavy for young- aged children, so including a new language can make it more difficult, which results in children’stresses. On the other hand, primary pupils who study an additional language will achieve at least two main benefits. Children who are between five and nine years old have the capacity to memorise things better than people from other groups. Therefore, young children pick up languages much more easily than teenagers. Another plus is that studying a foreign language can enhance their perpectives which are useful for their future career. Through a language, children not only study how to achive it fluently, but also broaden their knowledge of expression, lifestyle and culture of a country. In conclusion, there are two good points and two bad ones which studying a new language bring to young-aged children. In my opinion, parent should consider carefully before letting their kids learn a foreign language.