Why I chose my major at the university

My name is Daria Ilina and I recently graduated from Warsaw School of Economics (WSE) from the faculty Quantitative Methods and Information Systems. As my name faculty suggests, my studies were focused mainly on subjects related to numbers. Nevertheless, before graduation I was really struggling with calculus, moreover mathematics was the only one subject I had not passed. So why did I choose a faculty about numbers, having problems with mathematics at the same time? At WSE major is being chosen after the first year of studying and during first two semesters, all students, have an opportunity to participate in various courses e. g. law, management, econometrics, finance and among all of them, econometrics sounded to be the most boring and challenging course. To my surprise, it was the most interesting subject at the university, yes still it was hard to pass, but the knowledge received during the course changed the perception you look at the event and human behavior in general. The teacher used real-word problems and explained complex terms using simple examples, which made the whole process of learning exciting for everyone in the class. After completing the course, I realized that I do not want to choose a major where I am already good at, but choose the major where I can maximize my learning potential by working on my weaknesses and better understanding of the world. The idea that I used for major to specialized in was not so popular among peers and the vast majority of my friends went for majors according to their skills, for instance a polyglot friend picked international relations, a friend with the highest score in law chose economic law, and another social-butterfly friend chose management. Despite the fact that choosing a major based on my weaknesses resulted in endless stress and numerous sleepless nights at the beginning, during my second year I received a Dean's scholarship as one of the most outstanding students, which is granted to the top 10% students on each faculty. The amount of the scholarship was not large, but to me it signified that you can learn anything.