If people want to be successful in their field, do they have to like what they do? Some say it is a must to enjoy work to succeed. But, others claim that they need just hard work whether they like it or not.

How much can people succeed by working hard on something they don’t like? Some people may end up achieving superficially what they pursue, but they may not feel happiness deep down in their hearts. In my point of view, people have a better chance of becoming successful by doing what they like. Sometimes, what it takes to become successful is not how much you enjoy doing your work but how hard you try. It’s maybe because persistence and endurance are the keys to so-called success. I have a friend who opened a restaurant on a busy street downtown a few years ago. He wasn’t good at cooking and he didn’t enjoy serving customers at his restaurant. When I asked why he was doing something that he didn’t like, he simply said he had to do it since he didn’t have the skills to do anything else. One day, he happened to hire a very talented chef, and more and more people began to show up at his restaurant. His business flourished, and he opened two more restaurants. He still tells me that he doesn’ like running restaurants. But, I see him as a successful businessman. What made him so successful was his hard work, even though he didn’t enjoy the work itself very much. Did my friend become successful in every aspect of his life? He is now financially secure, but he may lack happiness. In order to truly succeed in your career as well as in your personal life, you have to do what you really enjoy. Normally, when you are happy with what you do at work simply because you like the work itself, your work performance improves. What happens then? Your employer sees that you are valuable to the company, and a bonus is paid. Then you feel grateful and rewarded, so you work even harder. You don’t complain because you enjoy what you do. In the end, you will find yourself in management. This example also applies to running your own business. Your customers become your manager, and you enjoy working for them. Again, you will have a successful business in this case as well. Working hard on what you don’t like may bring financial reward, but, more importantly. personal happiness may have to be sacrificed. In order to gain both success and happiness, people are better off doing what they enjoy. By doing so, they can often more quickly reach their goals. In conclusion, I finally believe the road to success can be found when you discover what your interests are.