It is widely believed that people's ability to learn new things decreases with age and that companies should actively recruit younger employees who have great potential to learn.

A common belief among people is that companies ought to employ the younger generation who are able to learn better than the older ones whose ability to learn may have declined with age. While it is true that ageing leads to cognitive decline, I disagree that corporations should employ the youth. The reasons for taking this position will be discussed in this essay. Ageing is an inevitable phenomenon that leads to a reduction in the ability of the brain to learn new things. This places a great limitation on the elderly, when it comes to job opportunities. This age group, although, has more experience, often lose out when they are unable to pass screening tests which seem to be a prerequisite for jobs nowadays. Moreover, with the advent of information technology many of them are not able to make use of the computer, thereby eliminating them from jobs which may require computer literacy. For example, a scrutiny of hundred adverts in the Daily Times Newspaper, which I often read reveal that the average age which most organizations prefer to employ is that of individuals less than 40 years. However, I disagree that companies should recruit the younger ones. Although, they are often more energetic, lack of experience is a likely issue in this age group. Since, majority of them are fresh graduates, they most likely will not have any work experience. This will cost the company a lot of money and time to train them to become satisfactory. As an example, the Shell Petroleum Company in Nigeria spends over 40 percent of its revenue on training of new staff from statistics available online. This in my own view is a needless waste of resources. In conclusion, companies which prefer to engage the older and often more experienced personnel are more likely to succeed more than those who prefer the younger inexperienced ones. The additional cost which is saved from not needing to organize new training for older employees is a quite a good incentive in my view.