It is widely believed that consumerism is Vital for the economic well-Being of a country. However others feel that consumerism has unacceptable social consequences on a society. Provide examples and suppo

In today’s modern world, consumerism is prevalent in any society. While some argue it is the drive behind a country’s economic growth, others are concerned that it has negative ramifications. In my opinion, there are both benefits and drawbacks of consumerism. On one hand, there are people who claim that consumerism boosts a country’s spending as a whole. If consumers are in a spending frenzy, then in a free market they will drive up the demand for products and services, which further pushes up the supply of them. In addition, increased spending attracts competition between businesses, who that compete for the consumers’ patronage by either lowering the price or offering premium products and services. As such, consumers will take advantage of this and keep spending, which in turn forms a positive cycle in which the country’s economic growth is stimulated. On the other hand, some people argue that the role of advertising in consumerism will is likely to cause harm to young children. It is thought that young children are susceptible to the mass media’s influences, particularly advertising. As they have not yet developed rational judgement, they will be likely to believe everything they see. For example, they might want fast food from McDonald’s in place of alternative healthy snacks, just because an enticing advertisement of McDonald’s on TV has captured their attention. This undoubtedly will lead to the younger generations not being able to think for themselves and also undesirable health problems such as diabetes. In my opinion, I believe there are both positive and negative aspects of consumerism. However, young children should be protected from the adverse consequences that advertising might lead to