It is very clear now that English should be the primary foreign language taught in all schools around the world. Learning a different foreign language before English is, in today’s world, a waste of time.

English is the most widely-spoken language in the world. In fact, it has gained so much importance in so many countries that it has become an international language. However, other languages like German, French and Spanish are also taught in schools and colleges as well in many countries. My opinion is that giving other foreign languages priority over the English language in schools is not a good idea. Over the decade, many people from different cultures and countries have adopted the trend of going and study abroad. Many of them choose to start their careers there as well. At this point, they need to understand and speak English very well. It will help them to communicate with others and they have a better chance to of growth in their fields. From academic success till better presentation skill, from better persuasion till important international meeting and conference, English is needed everywhere. The knowledge of the second language is important but none of them excels the necessity of knowing English and this is why the schools should give priority to English over other foreign languages. Learning English as a second language is being essential nowadays, as, people around the world understands English. It makes easier for you to visit any country. Most of the T V channels are in English. All information on the Internet is in English. If you know English you have better job or study opportunities as well. Learning other languages can only be beneficial as a hobby or if you are planning to visit that particular country. Other than that, I firmly agree that English is the necessity of today’s life. To conclude, it is clearly understood that learning English is more constructive than any other foreign language. So a priority should be given in schools to teach English as a second language over other languages.