Computer games have become widely popular and people spend a lot of time playing them. What are the negatives and positives of playing computer games and what can be done to reduce the bad effect?

Computers today are most common and their gaming aspect is a cult among the teenagers. Computer games are considered to have numerous bad effects, but I think if used in moderation they can be used as an effective tool for learning and development. Computer games are considered as a social evil in the society as they are associated with the dogma of time-wasting for school going students. To some extent, that may be true but everything about these games is not negative. Computer games help younger children to develop good hand-eye coordination which is crucial in their early stages. They are also full of fantasies which eventually aid in developing children' brains to be more imaginative and innovative. On the other hand, spending a long time on the computer not only wastes valuable time but also renders users physically inactive. Health hazards associated to this mainly includes obesity, weak eyes,   lower back problems and so on. Apart from this, cognitive development, which is critical during childhood, tends to go for toss thanks to increased addiction to gaming. These problems are a cause of concern among parents. To curb their negative aspects, parents should keep strict control over the time children are exposed to these games and should promote engagement in physical and brain games. In fact, game producing companies have also realised this and have started preparing gaming consoles which involve more physical movement, suggesting that everyone is doing their bit to promote the positive aspects of this innovation. To conclude, there are always two sides associated with everything: one affirmative and the other negative. It all comes down to how you want to utilise the potential of any innovation.