smoking and its causes and how to correct it

Inspite of the well known health hazards of smoking, most of the people do not let go of the habit. The first and foremost reason for this is addiction, most of the people are stuck within the four walls of their brain, not knowing how to get out. The second reason can be peer pressure. More than three fourth of the world comprises of young adults who are very prone to bad influence. In this essay, I will discuss the causative factors of lighting up cigarettes and how to bring it down. It would not be an exaggeration to say that once you get into the aura of the smoke from ciggarettes, it is going to be a hard way out. Millions of people are unknowingly addicted to this devil of a substance. Probably, because it offers them an escapade from the daily hustle-bustle or it might be seen as a time-pass by people who have an ample amount of time in their hands. For instance, most of the addicted victims of smoking are amongst university students who are barely 20-24 with not much to do daily. On the other hand, old retired people can also fall into this trap. For example, my grandfather once said, "smoking seems like a better option rather than simply sitting idle at home". Be it this or that, they end up being dependants. Secondly, the tender age of adoloscence is often scarred with these bad experiences. What starts out as fun, would take them through scary roads. Do they burn cigarettes or get burnt in the process? Only time can tell. In my personal experience, I have witnessed children as young as ten years lighting up their first cigarettes. It can most likely be accounted to the level of hormonal energy they have and also, to their minimal cerebral capacity that cannot differentiate between right and wrong. . There are numerous ways to bring this habit down. The important ones being, strict measures have to be taken to curb the selling of cigarettes to under age children. An enormous amount of counselling centeres have to be set up and they have to promise confidentiality to the people who come seeking help. At the same time, de-addiction centers have to set up in every district and the people should also be offered psychological help. To conclude, there might be a variety of causes for smoking but it is best if we nip the problem in the bud and if that is not possible, we have to try and salvage them by providing utmost care and pschyotherapy.