playing video games is a waste of time. children should not be allowed to play them

As computer games become increasingly popular, many people believe that children should be prohibited from wasting their time on them. I disagree and argue that, in moderation, children can benefit from playing these games. Firstly, today's games require a high level of creativity and imagination. Shooting, strategy development, role-playing games and others present players with a variety of tasks, such as simply going from point A to point B, discovering hidden things, or following clues to complete a mission. Moreover, players encounter high quality graphics and scripts, and other artistic features. The popular game Farming Village is a great example of this. As most children who play this game have never been to an actual farm, this virtual exercise allows them to imagine the situation and be a part of it. On a practical level, educators can utilize this technology to creatively teach history, geography, and other subjects with a hands-on approach, which makes video games a tool rather than a waste of time. Another advantage of computer games is that they enable players to view problems from different perspectives. Indeed, children can learn to face a variety of challenges in real time, and often to do this against competitors. Thus, not only do they develop problem-solving skills, they also learn to be proactive, think independently, and interact with others online, all of which are also useful adult skills. My own experience playing these games allowed me to see why one solution might work for one specific problem but not others. Eventually, I was able to work through difficult questions at school and come up with an array of solutions in classes such as math or physics. Again, the applications of games in education are endless. In conclusion, to assume that computer games are a waste of time is shortsighted and ignores potential benefits. Children should thus be encouraged to play these games to stimulate their creativity and to learn to see manage problems in a variety of ways.