It is true that people expect to live longer in advanced and first world countries but this fact may lead to some drawbacks for both individual citizens and community. In this essay I am going to point out some of the disadvantages and suggest what solutions can be taken seriously to decrease the detrimental effect of it.

As the eldery population of a society increases, problems grow as well. First, I shall mention the negative impact that it has on society. Each year more retirees are eligible for receiving pension from the government. The pension is provided by the tax payment of young workers which means more tax should be paid by fewer workers. Secondly, as people age, they may need more assistance from family members in the routine life activities, which may lead to unemployed young adults or more costs of hiring nurses for them. On the other hand, I am certainly sure that some solutions can be given by the government in order to help prevent the problems. For example changing the retirement age from 65 to 70. It is obvious that people at this age are still capable of doing their work chores and are capable of taking care of themselves. There is also another way to solve the problem which is to encourage young adults to migrate to the country. This way the population of young working force will increase again and no concerns will remain for the growth of eldery population. As it has been claimed in the essay, plenty of drawbacks like more tax burden on less populated young worker groups or more nursing assistance, will appear in societies that have higher life expectancy. But there are different solutions like changing the retirement age or encouraging migration that can solve the problem.