It is true that online courses are becoming a common feature of university education. Although there are a number of drawbacks of Internet-based learning, I would argue that there are far more benefits.

It is true that online courses are becoming a common feature of university education. Although there are a number of drawbacks of Internet-based learning, I would argue that there are far more benefits. The main drawback of the trend towards online university courses is that there is less direct interaction. Students may not have the opportunity to engage face-to-face with their teachers, and will instead rely on written forms of communication. Similarly, students who study online do not come into direct contact with each other, and this could have an adverse impact on peer support, discussion, and exchange of ideas. For example, whereas students on traditional courses can attend seminars and even discuss their subjects over coffee after lessons, online learners are restricted to chatting through website forum areas. These learners may also lack the motivation and element of competition that face-to-face group work brings. Despite the negatives mentioned above, I believe that online university courses are a beneficial development for various reasons. Firstly, they allow learners to study in a hasty maner, meaning that they can work whenever and wherever is convenient, and they can cover the material at their own pace. Secondly, the cost of a university education can be greatly reduced, while revenues for institutions may increase as more students can be taught. Finally, online learning offers open access to anybody who is willing to study, regardless of age, location, ability, and background. For example, 65-year old people could enroll in online MBA courses in a different country, which would have been impossible in the days prior to Internet-based education. In conclusion, while I recognize the possible disadvantages of online learning, I consider it to be a beneficial development overall. Its flexibility, reasonable costs, and numerous opportunities are indeed attractive and help people from various contexts achieve their goals.