It is true that one of the biggest challenges of living abroad is the language barrier, and some people also believe that the situation leads to both serious social and practical problems.

It is true that one of the biggest challenges of living abroad is the language barrier, and some people also believe that the situation leads to both serious social and practical problems. This essay will show my point of view clearly for this statement. To begin with, language is a means of communication between humans, or the key to social development in other words. Therefore, migrants who do not speak the local language may have various social problems, such as they find it difficult to talk to native speakers. For instance, a foreign student who does not know English cannot ask for help from their American neighbors because they do not understand his requirements. Moreover, this type of people living abroad may have little idea about the cultural diversity and regulations, which provokes misconceptions. In turn, migrants even suffer from racism or violence due to segregating themselves from outside. Beside the mentioned issue, foreigners are now having an advantageous tool which is smart gadgets to deal with it. It is understandable that the development of technology makes practical problems comparatively fewer because people can fix it with the Internet. For example, migrants have a choice to use an online translator such as Google translate and dictionary to communicate with their neighbors and native citizens, or an online local map to access the address. In addition, the Internet brings a variation of information about custom, tradition and laws of the country they are living in. To explain this, understanding a culture is the basic way to integrate into the community. Consequently, racism and discrimination will no longer exist. In conclusion, I can only partly agree with the opinion because we have a number of assistance. However, foreigners had better make their best effort to learn the native language and understand to avoid cruel social unrest and practical issues.