How Bich feels about her Vietnamese name and why is she conflicted about changing her name to Beth

The Story, “America Ruined My Name for Me” by Beth Nguyen, is about how Bich feels about her Vietnamese name and why is Bich conflicted about changing her name to Beth. Not only but also, she always feels embarrassed when people laugh at her while pronouncing her name. Furthermore, she never finds any pleasure in her name, and she is scared to look at it. She said: “A name like Bich (pronounced “Bic”) didn't just make me stand out—it made me miserably visible. ” This shows that Bich feels traumas, when her original name goes along with her during childhood because Bich's classmates, even teachers, always misspell her name and some people taunt her Vietnamese name. Those actions repetitively occur, made her gradually feel shy and impotent, when she meets with others because she is afraid of the mispronunciation of her name. Thus, Bich wants to change her name to “Beth”. Nevertheless, she needs to face numerous adverse expressions that are triggered by her family and her surroundings. Since she says her name is Beth while working in a restaurant, she feels joyfulness and fits in more with society in that name and she gradually says Beth as her own name. Eventually, Bich still gives herself permission to change her name. In contrast, her parents refused to let Bich change her name, she said: ”But my parents refused to let me change my name. They said that I should be proud of who I was, and they weren’t wrong, but they were so angry about it that I knew I should keep my worries to myself. I didn’t want to reject my family’s Vietnamese culture, replacing it with all that TV commercials promised. And so I stuck with Bich, or let it stick with me. . “ This shows how Bich feels conflicted about changing her name from “Bich” to “Beth” because of pressure from her family and even society. Bich wants to change her name to have more opportunities to fit in more with society, and she wants to have a better life. In contrast, her family wants to keep the traditional culture, which means Bich is supposed to keep her original name. Generally, society wants her to changes her name rather than keep the old name but her family wants her to keep the old name for traditional culture. As you can see, Bich feels spiteful about her name, on the contrary, she feels timid about changing her name to “Beth”.