It is true that in some schools learning a foreign language is compulsory. While some students may find this difficult, I completely agree with the view that this should be a discipline which all children must study.

Firstly, language breaks down communication barriers. International travel is now part of the lives of many people around the world, so it is often essential to interact with other people when travelling for work or leisure. For example, a simple thing such as asking directions will probably require a basic knowledge of the language of the country. School provides an ideal opportunity, because children find it easier than adults to acquire a new language. Therefore, the years spent at school should include the requirement to have a good grasp of a second, or even third, language. Secondly, communication includes forming friendships. At school, taking up a language should mean a chance to arrange exchange visits between students of different nationalities or to establish chat rooms between language students using social networking sites. Using the latest leading-edge technology, students will be forced into real-life situations in which they have to rely on their linguistic ability to speak and listen to a student overseas who speaks a different language. This provides an incentive to overcome language barriers and to speak more fluently. While the school curriculum already has to cover a lot of ground, time must be allocated to studying a foreign language. In conclusion, the school years offer a unique chance to learn another language, and so foreign languages must be a required part of the school curriculum.