essay ielts overpopulation disaster

Without any doubt, the global population has significantly expanded over the past few decades. Still, the following phenomenon, which is called overpopulation, has some negative consequences that affect nature and humans as well. This essay will focus on the adverse causes of overpopulation and provide solutions that can be considered to prevent the disaster. One of the main causes of the planet’s overpopulation is natural resources depletion, which means the lack of fossil fuels and other natural wealths. The emergence of the following problem is connected with the fact that more people are born, thus, more natural sources are consumed. Undoubtedly, the depletion of natural resources is a serious consequence of overpopulation because supplies are not as abundant as people. Nevertheless, there is a measure that can be helpful in this particular case. Apparently, the government should promote and invest in the development of renewable sources. Nowadays there are some ways to get renewable energy, for instance, solar panels that can be used for providing the electricity instead of common ones, but those methods are not popular and widespread. That is why, there should be a massive introduction of renewable energy sources into use in order to prevent the disappearance of natural resources. The second negative consequence of overpopulation is deforestation, which is demanded for the growth of the cities. As there are more people on the planet, more living places are needed, thus, the forests are cut down in order to build new flatblocks or houses. Subsequently, many species migrate or even become extinct. To prevent the following situation, the authorities should prohibit the usage of forests and develop remote regions where there is usually quite much free space for many people. To sum up, the planet’s overpopulation is a serious problem with the unpredictable further consequences, but it is clear that those causes are negative. If no measures are taken, the situation may be even worse, that is why people should care more about using renewable sources of energy and preservation of some natural areas in order to prevent the depletion of natural supplies and deforestation respectively.