It is too expensive to look after and repair old buildings That money should be spent on building modern buildings instead

Global warming has been a catastrophe to the survival of human beings and species in the world so that it becomes a challenge for humanity nowadays to protect our planet for future generations. I believe that there are 2 main causes and some appropriate solutions to this problem. Perhaps, the concentration of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere is the major cause of global warming so that the average surface temperature continues to rise rapidly. It is said that human activities such as burning fossil fuels lead to carbon dioxide to be trapped in the world’s atmosphere. For example, the majority of city dwellers drive cars or ride motorcycles to go to other places or work. Another cause is possibly deforestation as plants help to reduce atmospheric carbon dioxide levels by using CO2 in the process of photosynthesis and this is known as a natural process in the gas cycle. When forests are felled and burnt by humankind for housing areas or farms, CO2 will be trapped in the atmosphere and then this heat-trapping gas will raise the mean ground temperature. Regarding its causes, the potential remedy for this issue is probably to consume renewable energy and to reduce the use of fossil fuels. For instance, in Netherland wind power is used by society while wave power has been developed for electricity in Japan. It is believed that an international car-free day is a proper event to cut these emissions from vehicles and even in Jakarta this car-free day is held every Sunday. The last step in this global warming issue may be taken by reforesting the empty land or the trees in which are cut by humans. Furthermore, illegal logging and a change in land function must be prevented because If there are many plants, both rural areas and cities, those plants can lower the concentration of atmospheric carbon dioxide. Overall, an excessive amount of greenhouse gas emissions and felling and burning of forests are the fundamental causes of world warming, whereas the consumption of alternative energy and reforestation are the best ways to solve this problem.