«It is thought by some that traditional examinations have stood the test of time as the best way to assess students' knowledge. ».

Nowadays, being educated has become an essential part of our self-actualization. Some people argue that traditional examinations, which have been used as means of assessing students on their understanding of different subjects for decades, is the most effective method of testing. This may indeed be true, but, from my point of view, there are numerous arguments which confirm that knowledge cannot be evaluated this way. Firstly, traditional examinations lead to stress and the highest pitch of anxiety. In fact, some professors of universities intimidate students to study and pass exams well. But during the preparation, many students, who worry about their results, do not sleep and even eat trying to cram most of information in the short term. As a result, they ruin their mental health, fail to concentrate because of not paying full attention to subjects and then in the exam their mind goes blank. Secondly, traditional examinations access student’s knowledge on that particular day, not taking into account other forms of assessment that may play an important part in the student’s performance. For example, such factors of education as debates, projects, presentations are not considered, although these types of brainstorming are done over a period of time which can show the student’s growth throughout the course as a whole not only in a certain day. In conclusion, all things considered. Despite the fact that in today’s society people carry on saving traditional types of examinations to assess students’ knowledge, this does not account for the reasonableness of tests. From my point of view, understanding cannot be ensured solely by the exam papers.