Water resources management strategies in China

This is used in locations in which waters flow in particular areas along a body of water. This has been an ongoing and long time strategy that focuses on comprehensive erosion control measures such as hill slope and gully stabilization reorganizing farm lands and regulating the river system. The soft-path approach aspires to significantly improve water productivity and provide water services that are tailored to the needs of individual consumers. This is done by monitoring the water pricing, rights, along with the management of the rising water demands. For instance, we could mention the National Water Rights Exchange platform, this is a market based mechanism that aids in efficient use of the products which in this case would be the water resources. Every month, for every user a certain amount of water would be given, they could either use this as a whole or sell a portion of the amount they have conserved to those who require more than the limit. However, this is only applicable to users who are under the same watershed. Additionally, the taxes of water resources differ based on the localities, total amount used, specific uses and water supply source (surface or groundwater). With the application of circularity, societal growth and preservation of the harmony between human and nature, the ecological civilization consolidates these to reach the superior development of the country in the coming years along. This is done through technological advancements, application of environmentalism and enforcement of laws such as the “Water Prevention Act of 2008”. With 80% of China’s water resources being located in Southern China. We could find an uneven distribution, as insufficiency of this resource can be located in the Northerly part of China. The South- North water Transfer Projects aims to transfer an approximate 45 billion cubic meters of water from one to another in hopes to resolve this uneven dispersal. The rate of water demand is high due to the scarcity and the fall of water quality due to its contamination or excessive pollution. Nevertheless, the expanding industries, continual development and over population has added an extreme amount of pressure to its demand.