It is the responsibility of a government to protect its citizens from natural disasters.

A natural Disaster is a calamity which occurs beyond our imagination and which cannot be anticipated. The exact time of occurrence, its intensity and the damage it causes cannot be estimated by humans. Everyone as an individual has his or her responsibility to safeguard themselves from such type of disasters. The main responsibility lies on the part of the government which is consisting of the people, represented by the people and formed for the people. The government has no role and is dormant if it does not help its citizens in time of need. As far as my opinion is concerned I fully agree that government has to look after its citizens during such events of natural disasters which are of large scale. The responsibility of government has to be portrayed in the perilous times and in the times of need when a disaster occurs. It is well known that a natural disaster occurs naturally and due to its unimaginable fierceness, the intensity of damage it may cause cannot be estimated. As an individual people can protect himself at his capacity but damages to a larger extent cannot be handled by an individual. For a natural disaster whose intensity is unknown, prevention and rescue operation should not be underestimated and relief operations of such large scale can only be dealt by the Government only. It is vital that Government has to act in such type of situations by the way of evacuating people from the affected areas, setting up temporary relief camps, providing them essential commodities like water, milk etc, and setting up clinics to stop the spread of  communicable diseases. Apart from the preventive measures, Government at a large scale can provide help tackle the aftermath the disaster causes in restoring the normalcy which cannot be done individually. If we see the damages caused by a natural disaster it is so voluminous that sometimes even it is hard for the government to handle the situation. It is obvious that government works for the welfare of the people and without the people, the government has no meaning. If we consider an example there was a massive cyclone in south India during the month of October 2014, the damage was so massive that there was a huge impact on the everyday life and the Government with all its machinery and Governing attributes in use could restore water, electricity and basic needs of its people within 8 days. Imagine this without the help of government, what a mess it would be? This type of situation cannot be handled by an individual and the control on every element lies on the Government which can be handled effectively by the Governing body. Finally to conclude the main aim of a Government is to safeguard its citizens in times of need and in times of perilous situation because Government works for the people and without them Government has no meaning to sustain and un-functional.