It is the responsibility of a government to protect its citizens from natural disasters.

Natural disasters are sudden and cause severe damages. The impact is worst if citizens are unprepared to handle the disaster. Though natural disasters are unpredictable, they often follow a pattern. Based on the trend, disaster-prone areas can be classified and disaster management plan should include necessary preparedness to handle any such situation. I feel it is the responsibility of the government to protect its people from any natural calamities. Only Government can frame a macro level policy to address various related issues related to disaster holistically. Though, the macro level policy can only be successful with micro-level initiatives and awareness. Hence, the government needs to involve its people so that they become aware of various stages of disaster management and need to disseminate the message properly that how the people can save their valuables and life in case of any natural calamities. The government can also ask for innovative proposals from its citizens on how to handle disasters as the nature of problem varies from area to area, it is important to consider those contextual complexities while designing a disaster management planning. Proper weather forecasting system should be in place to generate the accurate forecasting and then the technological help should be taken to broadcast this information to the people. The aftermath of a disaster is always devastating and the government should take immediate steps to rescue the victim and provide aid to minimise the catastrophe. The Government represents people of a country and act for the well-being of its population. Hence, to handle natural disaster cooperation between all the actors may it be the local government, civil society organisations, or local people are vital.