It is the responsibility of a government to protect its citizens from natural disasters.

As much as the Nature is beautiful, it can wreck havoc and the resulting natural disasters often do not come with a warning.   A natural disaster can hit a region any time and it is always thought to be a responsibility of the local government to protect their people from it. According to me, the government can be held responsible for a disaster that was predicted and could have been averted. For e. g. floods. A region that has high a rainfall prediction has a high possibility of being flooded. Such regions should have more dams built which can control the excess water due to rain. Similarly, regions with low rainfall prediction should have advanced facilities like rain-water harvesting so that the people can get adequate water for drinking, farming, etc. Having said this, the government may not be able to protect their people in all natural disasters for e. g. a tsunami, a volcanic eruption or a hurricane. A few years back two countries in Asia namely Sri Lanka and India were on the receiving end of the wrath of nature in the form of Tsunami. Thousands of people died and there was a substantial loss of property and livestock as well. Similarly, The United States has witnessed many cyclones in history and the people have suffered a lot of damage despite The States being the most powerful country in the world with a strong government at the helm. The citizens should be aware and take responsibility as well. Local governments of the natural disaster-prone areas should take additional steps to forecast and broadcast the news to minimise the natural disaster. The forecasting system and technology related to weather forecasting should be updated to take precaution so that people of the area get the news before the disaster hit the area. The government should allocate a budget and manpower to help the victim of the natural disaster. Thus the devastating outcome of the natural calamities can often be reduced. Thus, in conclusion, I feel that government should be responsible for the safety of its people but in some cases, it fails to do so against nature.