It is sometimes suggested that primary school children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The pushback against standardized testing and growing concern about young children spending too much time on touch-screen devices has helped popularize the idea that children should spend as much time as possible with outdoor activities. I believe, the benefits of this idea outweigh its drawbacks as it helps children perform better academically and connect with nature. Gardening and keeping animals can benefit young kids to outperform in their studies in different ways. First of all, as a more engaging way to learn, they can lead to increased retention and offer practice in problem solving. The design of garden, for instance, feeds into math lessons on measuring and mapping. Secondly, one of the most difficult things for young children to understand is why what they are learning is important, and, in turn, incorporating such activities into classrooms would be a great way to show children how the things they are learning can be used in the real world. Besides, it is of primary importance to involve kids in activities that connect them back to the ecosystems that support them. Early contact with nature develops pro-environmental values and behaviors. Through positive experiences with nature, children will develop their love of nature and a foundation for the development of responsible environmental behavior. Therefore, engaging school children in the frequent, unstructured experiences with nature helps developing such behavior. Children should play and explore the outdoor educational tasks to develop empathy and connection with nature. In conclusion, in my opinion, involving young children in real world activities at schools would be significantly beneficial for their academic performance and and the ability to develop their understanding of nature.