It is sometimes said that the countryside offers a high quality of life, especially for families. What are the arguments for and against families choosing to live and work in the countryside, for example as farmers? What is your own view about this?

The standard of living is always being compared between the countryside and urban life. This controversial tactic of whether to select the countryside or city area for residing has always provoked strong arguments. This essay will look into both proponents and opponents side, and explain why I support the notion of higher living standards in the countryside in the current era of globalization. On the one hand, the wide-ranged benefits of residing in the countryside are entirely different from the urban regions which goes beyond the materialistic world as it connects the dwellers closer to the natural resources such as wildlife forestry, land and water bodies. To elaborate, the level of all kinds of pollutions such as air, water, soil and noise are comparatively lower in the rural areas which subsequently prevent them from various health conditions such as asthma, hearing loss and stress related disorders. Moreover, the advancement of technology has helped farmers to enhance their crop yield through modern methods such as crop rotation, better irrigation systems and even highly trending organic farming these days. Furthermore, this advancement enables the youngsters to pursue the higher studies through the virtual learning and self-learning course modules with the use of internet. Turning to the alternative side, the countryside is still considered as backwards area in terms of limited job positions, educational opportunities, and entertainment resources such as museums, theatres and amusement parks. Additionally, this has led to the migration of people to the cities resulting in rural depopulation and leaving the elderly population behind being ignored and neglected. To recapitulate, I opine that it is logical to consider the life of countryside as balanced in terms of availability of resources, self-sufficiency and environmental awareness with the advent of modern technology and globalization.