English has become a global language. what are the reasons? What measures can be taken to take care of any negative impact it may bring on linguistic diversities?

It is irrefutable that English enjoys the lingua franca status today. Myriad causes Could be attributed to this which include Power dynamics imperialism and advances in technology. This universal acceptability of English is threatening minority languages and indirectly the cultural identities of non-English speaking regions of the one. In this essay, I shall Fortify above mentioned causes, their resultant Impacts and solutions with necessary illustrations and logical arguments before citing my feasible conclusion. The first and perhaps the most important reason why English, essentially American English has become a global language is the sheer power that the united state enjoys. For a language to be spoken by people across the world, backing of authorities is must. In the past, when Romans conquered any region, they burned down libraries and banned local dialects to curb revelation. So in the yester year’s language was spread at the edge of sword, but now it’s done more out of compulsion. America being the superpower compels people to learn English in order to enter into any kind of relationship with it. Apart from that imperialize policies embraced by Britain into the 18th and the 19th centuries promulgated the notion of English as a common language of interaction across the world. The second reason that made English the language of choice is the technological advances that revolutionized the way in which people communicated at the turn of the last century. Eighty percent of correspondences on the net are done in English. The population of the world today is 6. 9 billion out of which 2 billion people speak English, this is unprecedented as in none of the other majority spoken languages like Spanish, French and Mandarin enjoy such popularity. Turning to the effects because of above-mentioned causes seems to be myriad. First of all, this very popularity of English has lead to a situation where in the third world countries like India. The younger generation is not keen on learning the first language. This has fueled a generation gap and youngsters are increasingly becoming disenchanted with their cultural legacies. To top it off, government especially those of the Commonwealth nations have given official status to English in their constitution. This has added fuel to fire. Second of all, minority languages like Nagamese, Sanskrit, Urdu and so on are on the verge of extinction today. If a language is lost, the oral written traditions also get lost forever and so does the wisdom of that civilization. This is a huge loss to humankind as a whole. Hence, the threats that English poses to linguistic diversities is real. Myriad solutions that can be put into place to tackle this issue. First, the authorities can make first language learning mandatory in primary schooling. Apart from that for archeologist, Anthropologists, Religious scholars and fine art students, the government can provide state of the art learning facilities to ensure that minority languages are properly documented and spread to the massesSecond, technology can be utilized to preserve dead or dying languages for the future generation to cherish. In conclusion, if the aforementioned solutions are properly implemented then the apparent disadvantages brought forth by English can be easily countered. English is the official second language of the world and in the near future there is no chance of it losing this status.