It is said that volunteering should be a compulsory part of secondary education programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children) Support your answer with examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no doubt that volunteering in community services is an excellent way for students' overall development. While it is true that students can learn many aspects of life from volunteering, I believe that it should not be made mandatory for them. One of the major benefits of participating in unpaid social services is that it helps students to understand the essence of collaboration. This is because most of the social activities happen with a group and students get to interact with people from various parts of society. Furthermore, participation in these services help students to become more patient and empathetic. For example, when someone is teaching sports to younger children, they have to listen to the children's problems multiple times during that time. As a result, he tends to be more approachable to others when he grows up. Similarly, one tends to be more empathetic towards the cleaning workers if he has been responsible to clean his neighbourhood. Nevertheless, I would argue that the voluntary activities should not be made mandatory. The reason is that it will put tremendous pressure on the students. Students, who are part of the secondary education, generally have to appear for multiple examinations as per their academic requirements. Therefore, if attending community services made mandatory, many of them may lose interest in it. In addition, they may not learn anything as they will have no interest in such activities. Therefore, it should be made optional where people with genuine interest will participate. As a result, the students will be able to incorporate the learning in their future. In conclusion, although volunteering is beneficial to learn teamwork and be more patient and empathetic, I believe it should rather be made optional as otherwise, it will overburden the students and they will lose interest from these activities.