Proposal for honouring a local hero

Luis Buñuel, a local hero This proposal is intended to suggest a local hero, who in my opinion deserves to be honoured. My hero is an international filmmaker from a small village in Teruel. My Choice My choice is Luis Buñuel who was born at the beginning of the 20th century an is well-known for his aesthetics contributions to the history of cinema. He attended the Jesuitas school as a child, which will later influence his critic to church in his avantgarde films. Then, he moved to the Resident of students in Madrid, where he was friend of Lorca and Dali. Heavily influenced by this experience he moved to Paris where he made one of the first surrealist films ever. Reasons for my choice My main reason for choosing Buñuel is that he was an ordinary person from Teruel until he proposed a change in the way spectators watch movies, that became internationally recognised. However, these contributions should be honoured also in his local region. My other reason is that Buñuel not only made bolding experiments in films, but also was interested on the people usually abandoned in everyday life, those he called “Los olvidados” in one of his more celebrated films of his Mexican period. Honouring my hero If my choice of local hero is accepted, I suggest to get together some money which could be used to fund an annual avantgarde film festival in Aragon. This could be known as the Viridiana Festival. I hope you will consider Luis Buñuel as a suitable nominee who deserves to be honoured. Should the above suggestions be considered, the awarding event is going to be a resounding success.