You need to listen to the following two videos and write an essay to compare realism and liberalism in the context of international relations. It’s necessary to address main arguments of J. D. Dowen and Randall Schweller in your text.

The difference between realism and liberalism some may find astounding and the “fight” between those to doctrines has dominated the modern political world. With ideas of many thinkers, including J. D. Dowen on the liberal side and Randall Schweller presenting realism we can easily compare not only their outlook but also see the whole picture. There are many differences between the two doctrines, first it’s the definition. Professor Randall Schweller defines realism as a theory about power and security, states seek those mentioned above, often disregarding morals and seeking autonomy because “you can’t trust anyone”. On the other hand, J. D. Dowens understands liberalism as that the international system creates opportunities for cooperation and conflict but the states are the one’s to decide which path to take, usually resulting in choosing a non-violent route, claiming that it works 99% of the time in resolving conflict. The different between two doctrines is also seen in their understanding of actors of international relations. Realism only sees states as actors, who actively affect international politics, while liberalism, in addition to states, also recognizes corporations, social and religious movements. Liberalism seeks cooperation. However, realism claims, that cooperation is the way to codependency and in a world where every state can turn against you any time it is seen as dangerous. In conclusion, based on the outlook of the two professors researching opposite ideas, the two doctrines are immensely different in their approach to international relations, and their understanding on how the world should function. Even though they are immensely different I don’t believe the “best” one could be found, as each state seeks the one convenient for itself in the proper time.