It is said that "Not everything that is learned is contained in books" Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which is more important? why?

Appointing a new employee in an organisation can often be a challenging task. Not only do we have to make sure that the recruit is adept in his field, but we also have to take care of his behavioural issues. While the recruiter evaluates a variety of aspects like qualification, experience and work ethic, many argue that personality should be given more emphasis than technical expertise. However, I believe that this does not always hold true. Personal qualities play an important role in deciding whether the candidate is fit for the job or not. The way the individual reacts to certain situations shows his management style and work ethic. If an individual reacts aggressively to minor issues, it can be deduced that he is temperamental and does not handle pressure well. Moreover, if the person has a bossy attitude and superiority complex, not only would this hamper the efficiency of the company but would also make it difficult for people around him to work. For example, screaming and humiliating subordinates for non-completion of work without understanding the reasons can majorly demotivate other employees leading to dissatisfaction. This may prove to be a threat to the organisation and thus, recruitment of such candidates is not ideal. Be that as it may, technical aspects like experience and qualification are equally important and decide how well the person will perform in his position. Completion of a degree or other qualification sets a standard to the company's requirement and ensures that the candidate has basic and minimum knowledge about the technicalities. In addition, experience justifies the person's ability to apply his theoretical knowledge. Furthermore, skills define his quality of work, all of which helps the organisation to be more efficient and effective and earn a larger margin of profit. For example, a candidate A with 10 years of experience will always be better than another candidate B with 5 years of experience as A will be more familiar with practical work situations and how to deal with them. Therefore, these aspects majorly affect the accomplishment of the company's goals. In conclusion, although some argue that personality traits are a more important criterion than experience, I strongly believe that both these factors have equal weighting as it is clear that a highly experienced individual with a problematic personality does the same amount of harm as a zero experienced person with an ideal personality.